Christina Hageny

leads Valor with over a decade
of CPP / PHR professional
experience

Christina Hageny

leads Valor with over a decade
of CPP / PHR professional
experience

Paying Employees in Texas

Texas 2021 Minimum Wage: $7.25/hour

Texas Overtime Rules: 1.5 x’s the regular rate of pay (non-exempt employees) for hours worked over 40 in a workweek

Texas Paystub Requirements:

At the end of each pay period, an employer shall give each employee a written earnings statement covering the pay period.

An earnings statement must be signed by the employer or the employer’s agent and must show:

  • the name of the employee;
  • the rate of pay;
  • the total amount of pay earned by the employee during the pay period;
  • any deduction made from the employee’s pay and the purpose of the deduction;
  • the amount of pay after all deductions are made;  and
  • the total number of:
    • hours worked by the employee if the employee’s pay is computed by the hour;  or
    • units produced by the employee during the pay period if the employee’s pay is computed on a piece rate.

An earnings statement may be in any form determined by the employer.  The information required by Subsection (b) may be stated on a check voucher or bank draft given to an employee for the employee’s wages.

How often do you have to pay employees in Texas?

  • Non-exempt employees must be paid at least twice per month

When is an employee’s final check due?

  • Voluntary resignation – next regular payday
  • Involuntary termination – within six calendar days

Texas Withholding Tax 

  • N/A – no state income tax
Need Help? Click Here!

Texas Unemployment Tax

Texas Unemployment Tax Registration

Texas Unemployment Tax Employer Liabilities

  • New employer rate: 2.7%
  • 2021 Wage Base: $9,000

Texas Unemployment Tax Due Dates

  • Return and payment is due on the last day of the month following the end of the reporting period

Texas New Hire Reporting

  • ENHR Operations Center
    PO Box 149224
    Austin, TX 78714-9224
  • Phone: 800-850-6442
  • Fax: 800-732-5015
  • Report online

Texas Child Support

  • Child Support Enforcement Division
    Office of the Attorney General TXCSDU
    PO Box 659791
    San Antonio, TX 78265-9791
  • Phone: 877-474-4463
  • Pay online

Resources